NEAR: The Shorts Challenge

23 Apr

Challenge: to fit into these comfortably by June 23, 2012.

Inevitably there comes a point in one’s life when one (read: me) has eaten too much. 

That started with about four major meals that were four or more courses in one week (not including lunches and other smaller meals). I was feeling very almighty about this so I decided to go out on the weekend and have one of those burger where the fat soaked up every last inch of the paper it was served on. Mmmmmmmm.

A week later, I thought it would be a GREAT idea to try on a few pair of shorts. Not so great.

But motivating.

This is the thing: shorts that fit (me) are really hard to find. Really hard.

I think clothing designers had a field day with Daisy Dukes and said “hey, the average person (and surrounding men) are going to LOVE this.”

On the opposite end of the spectrum, you have other designers thinking that the Bermuda short is great. Yes, if you’re retired or are have really long thin legs.

So we’ve got: too short, too long, too tight, bad patterns or too boring.

But designers are starting to listen. I was able to get a few pairs at H&M that fit the basic need and the bend test. Hurrah!

Naturally, I brought a few. The last time I got a pair of shorts that actually fit was in 2006 (also from H&M).

But when I was in Joe Fresh (the cheap but chic retailer under its parent brand Club Monaco), I saw a pair that had a fantastic print and fit the above requirements. Sold!

And then I tried them on. A wee bit tight.

As I stood there in the dressing room I felt like the last bit of toothpaste oozing to get out of the tube.

And never one to back out of a challenge, I told myself I will fit into these shorts.

So I’m giving myself two months. Until June 23, 2012.

Just in time for summer. Plus, the horoscope says that I’m supposed to be on a fitness kick.

The horoscope never lies.

I got a two week pass at a spinning studio and I’ve already been twice.

And after many expletives and hitting my handle bars a wee too much (“Hey! Spot the intense one in the back!”), I’m starting to feel sore but good.

And maybe, just maybe I’ll stop eating out at restaurants. Well, at least seven days a week.

That’s a start.

9 Responses to “NEAR: The Shorts Challenge”

  1. kb April 23, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    Wild & Game would live to help you, eat natural, eat delicious. Really delicious, how can you except to give up yummy foods that have contributed to your shorts dilemma unless you can replace them with foods that don’t make you feel like you are missing out on much?

    • kb April 23, 2012 at 11:01 am #

      *spelling via iPhone: though I’d live to help you, I intended to say ‘love’

  2. nearafar April 23, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    I’m not giving up on food I love. I’ll just do it a bit more in moderation and increase my exercise. I think then I’ll see results. It was an excessive week and as a result I felt like crap. The shorts were an excuse to kick it into high gear.

  3. jadebroadus April 23, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    I totally know what you mean- I have several items of clothing right now that I’d like to fit into again… Too many trips/ eating out/ big meals and not enough exercise does not do a body good! Good luck!

  4. jadebroadus April 23, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    Totally know what you mean! I have several clothes that I would love to fit into again! Good luck!

  5. wisfullywandering April 23, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    Good luck! Hopefully soon the weather will improve enough here and you will be able to try jogging outside. There are some great trails in Toronto!

    • nearafar April 23, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      Thanks! Yes, more reviews of Toronto trails and less of Toronto restaurants. I think I’ve had my fill. Literally!

  6. Ayngelina April 27, 2012 at 4:22 am #

    Those are short shorts lady!
    I have eaten far too much in Maui so I’m on the fitness train when I get back too.

    • nearafar April 27, 2012 at 9:48 am #

      ha ha they’re not too bad when you try them on! I’ll probably wear them with tights. I’m loving the spinning and may even do a boot camp or get back into Yoga. Maybe Moksha on weekends?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

