Travel Peeps I Want to Meet (11-13)

8 Jun

Twitter is a small world.  Especially in the travel blogging community.  Let’s face it. Some of us are addicts. Some of us may spend more time on Twitter than we do with our own family or friends.  I may be one of those people. As the Twitter motto is:  follow your interests. Through this motto, I have been fortunate to have met some really amazing bloggers out there who are passionate about travel and life.  I haven’t met most of the people on this list in real life. The ones that I have met in real life, I wish I had a chance to speak with further, mainly because I’m genuinely curious and admire them in some way. Otherwise, I am hoping I can learn from their successes in some way to further better myself.  Bonus: They’re going to be at TBEX  (for those who don’t know, this is a conference called the Travel Blog Exchange) in Vancouver in June.  Holiday! Celebrate!

11. Sean Keener (@SEKeener; @bootsnall) I will always have a soft spot in my heart for Boots N All because it was one of the only comprehensive sites out there that I found useful in planning my first trip to Europe.  In the past five years, the site has changed dramatically with destination-specific travel guides and blogs (see Jessica Speigel, above). I guess what I would want to know is since Boots N All was a bit of a trail blazer in their genre, who is their competition now? How are they competing now? And will they continue to expand their destination specific guides? PS A handy guide to TBEX, of course.

12. Johnny Jet (@johnnyjet) Full Time Traveler. Celebrity in “the community.” If you want a link to anything travel related, Johnny has it.  I never got to talk to him because he was super busy last time at TBEX and  is on the organizing committee (or maybe I was a wuss to have a full blown discussion with him).   Maybe he’ll remember my name this year? We’ll see. I do know  he’s full of knowledge and would love to pick his brain as to the travel trends he’d predict for the future and what it’s like to be on the organizing committee for TBEX.

13. Jim Benning (@jimbenning) Jim is one of the co-founders and editors of World Hum (owned by the Travel Channel). The last time I met Jim at TBEX, he probably had this thought in his head: “She’s going to pitch me. I’m really tired and I have to present at the conference tomorrow. I don’t feel like talking.” At this point, I never knew who Jim was nor had read World Hum.  Yet, I understand this sentiment. Being an editor of a very popular publication at a blogging conference can feel like being a piece of steak in front of a pack of wolves.  As someone who is trying to get into the industry, how can I present an editor  my ideas without having to email on a weekly basis to get their attention  (Full Disclosure: I have not pitched World Hum) or meet you and discuss ideas that World Hum would be interested in? or discuss the selection process of writing for World Hum?  Call me.

Are you going to to TBEX? Who do you want to meet?  And of course, come find me!  I’m a chatty Cathy about the following places and subjects: New York, Paris, Toronto, Buenos Aires (it’s on my list), Barcelona, food, architecture, travel literature, spelling and punctuation, breaking into the industry,  blogging vs. journalism, travel magazines and the people that write  for travel magazines.  This is really a segue to converse about Andrew McCarthy.  What’s your favorite Andrew McCarthy story? Discuss.

One Response to “Travel Peeps I Want to Meet (11-13)”

  1. Sean June 9, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    I look forward to meeting you too Natalie. I’ll be around all weekend, so talk soon!

Leave a Reply

