Dear: Golden Gate Bridge

10 Aug

We first met in March, 2011.  It took me an hour to see you. I waited so long for that bus up Van Ness.  But you were worth it. You were bright and gleaming admist the shining sun at 9 a.m.

nearafar

You don’t look 75.  More like 25 in spirit.

nearafar

You look red but you’re never that bold. In fact, you are orange vermillion. a.ka. “international orange.”  Of course, you’d be world reknown.  You’re too pretty not to be.

nearafar

You take a lot of work: 38 painters work on you, along with 17 ironworkers who replace corroding steel and rivets. Oh, to be the belle of the ball! Marh-vah-lous.

nearafar

Even in the gloomy weather, you’re  still a stunner.

nearafar

But what’s so great about you is that even though you attract 41 million passengers on the regular, you still make me feel like I’m the only person you’re paying attention to.

nearafar

You surprise me too.  There are trees that could easily be mistaken for those in Africa or even Italy.

nearafar

And down near the pier, you can even fish. Who wouldn’t want to in front of you?

nearafar

Besides, you have a history.  When you were being constructed, 11 workers died. 35 were expected to die (one fatalty per $1 million in construction costs). You had a  net suspended under the floor and it protected 19 men when you were being built. These “members” are  nicknamed the  “Half Way to Hell Club.” Tis true, I’d never want to jump!

nearafar

I could look at you all day long. All evening long. I never did get to see you at sunset. Next time, I promise.

nearafar

xo N.

3 Responses to “Dear: Golden Gate Bridge”

  1. momwhoruns August 10, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    what a great blog entry. San Francisco is indeed a great city.

  2. Yvonne (@JustTravelous) August 18, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    what a lovely lovely post! I bet it’s amaaaazing at sunset…

    • nearafar August 18, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

      Thanks! I tried to make it out for sunset on my first day but I was soo tired from running around! Next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

