Dear Beach Drive, Victoria BC

11 Aug

I was told to look out for you but I didn’t expect you to be such an unexpected discovery.  The cobalt blue of the ocean had me fixated.

nearafar

As I wound my way along the curves of Beacon Hill Park, I reached you.  Runners, rollerbladers, walkers and photographers abound.  A bird swiftly flew out of this picture. The sign near the steps leading to an oasis upon the descension.  

nearafar

And then the view.  That view.  Miles of ocean outstretched in front of me.  A grassy foreground for some lovely photos.

nearafar

There isn’t a beach like you. Rocks all over the place. Rocks along the horizon.  Hidden moments. I wish I had a blanket. Do you love your mom? Look closely. I love mine.

nearafar

There were about 11 kitesurfers catching a wave. Lots of wind for height. Look at em go!

nearafar

Wind was abound. Lucky this little doggie didn’t get blown away! *Wipes sweat off brow.

nearafar

All of this kitesurf watching made me hungry. I headed over to Cook Street Village to refuel.  La Taquisa satisfied the craving. $2.50 for a mini taco on a gluten free tortilla at that! It’s in an abandoned courtyard and such a gem. Thanks again for a beautiful afternoon, Victoria!

nearafar

xo

N.

5 Responses to “Dear Beach Drive, Victoria BC”

  1. laurahartson August 11, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    lovely pics i like the antiquey quality

  2. Andi of My Beautiful Adventures August 12, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    I love these pics! What a gorgeous part of the world.

    • nearafar August 16, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

      Thanks! The bike ride here was worth it. Next time I’ll muster up the courage to kite board!

  3. Emily August 17, 2011 at 1:52 am #

    Oooh, so pretty! I wish I had more time in Canada so that I was able to include Victoria in the final itinerary. Oh well, I’ll just have to go to B.C. again 🙂

    • nearafar August 17, 2011 at 3:55 am #

      Aww! I think you did the right thing going to Whistler. Can’t wait to hear the update on that!

Leave a Reply

