Remembering September 11

11 Sep

 

 

Can you believe it’s been 10 years?

I was working at the Gap. It was the first day of my third year of university in the afternoon. I got a call at the store from a lady who needed the New York Head Office phone number to get in contact with her daughter. She said two planes had crashed into the World Trade Centre. I didn’t believe her. I hadn’t seen the news.  I really hope she got in contact with her daughter. In 2005, I went to NYC for the first time and was lucky to visit St. Vincent Hospital where pictures and notes of the victims were posted. Posted is one picture from the tribute. It was so heartbreaking to see all of these notes and pictures there years later, right across from the other tribute of Tiles for America.  The pictures are no longer there but the emotion, the reality still remains.


2 Responses to “Remembering September 11”

  1. Abby September 12, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    Yes, St. Vincent is truly special to me now; it makes memories come back at such full force. Short but sweet your post is, yes. But important. It made my heart race. While I was walking through a world that I could not understand, my mom was calling me over and over again… Your post encapsulates what it was like for those on the outside trying to reach the ones too close to this enormous tragedy.

    • nearafar September 12, 2011 at 2:59 am #

      As a tourist, it was really cool to see something so local and on a regular tour pre 9/11 no-one would think of touring the outside of a hospital of all places. But it was this place that was so personal to locals and was really fascinating to look on the outside in. That said, I can’t imagine how heart wrenching it was for those living in the city at the same time. I’m so glad you–and many others–were safe and feel tremendous sympathy for those that didn’t make it.

Leave a Reply

