Dear Marijuana

17 Sep

A Pelican in Amsterdam. Many of them dot the canals.

We were supposed to meet in Amsterdam. We were virgins. It was going to be mind-blowing (or “mind-blasting,” as Russell Peters says). But as most of my plans for Amsterdam, it all went to pot.  I had many whiffs of you. Mainly in my hostel, the illustrious Bob’s. Seeing droopy eyes and smelling what would be a week’s worth of bad breath and rotten eggs in one room, I started to think you wouldn’t be a good idea.  The clean room turned out to be filled with five blind mice and bed bugs; the good friend to meet me at 9 a.m. got delayed; the exhaustion creeped into our plans. And those fateful nights out, those times in coffee shops not meant for coffee whatsoever, became an early night in (although we somehow met a group of ladies dressed in nun attire on a bachelorette).  But I realized my greatest high was the wonder of experiencing a new city: encountering Van Gough’s “Starry Night” for the first time; getting lost in the Red Light District; being invited into a local’s apartment after admiring the exterior; happening upon a marathon on our way to the Heineken Experience.  It was real and I didn’t smell the day after. The hangover never went away. I just craved more.

Any experience with drugs on the road? Care to share?

5 Responses to “Dear Marijuana”

  1. Craig Zabransky September 18, 2011 at 5:24 am #

    Amsterdam is so much more than a date with Mary Jane. It’s is truly one of my favorite cities… Glad you are enjoying other aspects of the city.

    stay adventurous, Craig

    Ps – You can always try a brownie. Rumor has it…it makes the Heineken Experience even better.

    • nearafar September 18, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      Thanks for your comment Craig. I quite liked Amsterdam during the day. If I go back, I’d like to get to the windmills. Our Heineken experience may have interrupted with that last time. 😉

  2. Candice September 19, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    A space cake made me throw up in the Anne Frank house. True story, I’m going to hell.

  3. S.S September 28, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    Well Said ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

