Social Media Mondays

10 Oct

Photo: Sharon Montrose, The Animal Printshop dot com

There’s stop motion but I had never heard about photo motion. It’s time consuming, but very fun to watch especially if there’s good music in the background. The very fun Joshy Washington of Matador shows you how to do it with a few cool examples. Another example I stumbled upon was this very cool video highlighting Paris.  I’ve watched it again and again!

I told you copy blogger was becoming a favourite resource for all things social media. As a good recap, there is a list of eight effective blog habits. At first, I was having trouble being consistent. However, sticking to the plan of posting on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays has really helped me in staying consistent.  Having a theme for a particular day, like Social Media Mondays or Fri Fotos recaps,  is like doing homework and it helps.

Travelllll discusses the new Blogger platform, where readers can view your blog in seven different ways. I like the discussion on this where it’s mentioned that Blogger still has control over your blog and can kill it at any time, as opposed to a self-hosted WordPress blog. Are you on Blogger? If not, would you switch? I have had my blog compromised a few times on Blogger. As cool as their new layouts look, I don’t think I could ever go back and will wait until I can get a designer to customize my blog the way I want it. Plus, I don’t think you can monetize very well on Blogger. That said, there are a few successful blogs on Blogger like Oh Happy Day and Cup of Jo.

And for a bit of inspiration, I am linking to the Stanford commencement speech from Steve Jobs. It has over 8 million views on You Tube. Amazing.

What are your most effective blogging habits? What is a challenge for you with your blog? I’d love to hear.  What do you think of the new Blogger set up? 

Leave a Reply

