Dear Paris

11 Oct

 

I’ve been thinking about Paris a lot lately. I’m starting to miss it. I missed it when I first left it. Then the heartbreak subsided. Paris would always be with me. Kind of like the first childhood crush. Or first kiss. Then we drifted. Other places started to come to the forefront. They weren’t a long distance love. They didn’t live across the Atlantic.  So I had dalliances. New York and I had a lot of fun.  We even saw each other for my birthday. I had a brief fling with San Francisco. It was easy breezy but there was something about those hills… And then there’s my tried and true hometown of Toronto. I’ll always love my T Dot but it’s getting a bit too comfortable, as it would through the twenties and especially after the last five years. But Paris. Paris, you’re pulling at my heartstrings, begging for me to come back with stories of others living with you, coming to see you and all of your pretty photos. Of pastries. And cheese. And peonies. I can’t take it anymore, but right now I’m stuck longing for you. So I’ll plan. I’ll make a plan of our dates and what I want to see when I get back to you next. Deal?

Video Time lapse: Luke Shepard Done entirely with photographs and to the background of The XX. It’s like a serious make-out session that you don’t want to stop!

6 Responses to “Dear Paris”

  1. Jen Laceda October 11, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Amen! I feel the same about Paris. 2009 was my last visit…and somehow, I am missing her already! And I agree – oh, the pastries!! Well, since I’m stuck in the T-dot also, I just have to reconnect with Paris through posts like these and through baking / cooking. Like the macaron project I blogged about this weekend 🙂 ! Ahhhhh, Paris….

    • nearafar October 12, 2011 at 12:12 am #

      Aww. Thanks! Yes, it’s been way too long and then I started looking at Pret A Voyager and Oh Happy Day and I was getting a bit misty eyed. I also saw your comments too (and your macaron blog…good on you!). I wish I could go but I can’t there right now, unfortunately. 😦 So I’ve got another Paris post coming up and I’m working on a research guide too. It’s been fun to relive the memories though. A visit to Pain Perdu this weekend helped a little bit. 🙂 xo

  2. Kirsten Alana October 11, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    le looooove

    • nearafar October 12, 2011 at 12:14 am #

      that video makes me miss it even more. Anne of Pret A Voyager did an update with Luke on his other video too. It’s like she was reading my mind. I read her blog ALL weekend.

  3. ags October 12, 2011 at 2:27 am #

    Love the video and your write up. This really makes me long to go back, :>

    • nearafar October 12, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

      Thanks Ag! I want to go back too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

