CONTEST # TWO! My “AFAR” Prize with Passports With Purpose

30 Nov

The Rosewood Hotel Georgia in Vancouver. You can win a 2 night stay here!

If you know me, you know I love a good contest. I do have a lucky streak and I’ve won a lot of contests: a bike, a trip to San Francisco, two nights at the Montelucia in Arizona (that I never got to use…), $1,000 certificate with Intrepid, etc. So when I heard about the travel blogger fundraiser Passports with Purpose to give away a prize of my choice to help build two libraries in Zambia with Room to Read, I jumped at the chance! I’ve won enough things. Now it’s my time to help you win something and give back to an amazing cause that’s close to all the things I value: education, children and travel.  I am so overwhelmed by the support I’ve gotten from my sponsors and cannot thank them enough. And kids, they are top notch!

So what do you have the chance to win?! Well, I’m giving away two prizes: A “NEAR” Prize and an “AFAR” prize. Woot Woot!  This post is dedicated to my afar prize. *You have to enter on the Passports with Purpose website! 

My AFAR Prize is a Two Night Stay at the Rosewood Hotel Georgia and the Tasting Menu for Two at the hotel restaurant, Hawksworth Restaurant in Vancouver, BC.

A deluxe room at the tres swank Rosewood Hotel Georgia. Can we say "Romantic Weekend?" Photo: Rosewood Hotel Georgia website

About the Rosewood Hotel Georgia from their site:

First opened in 1927 in the heart of downtown Vancouver, Hotel Georgia came to be known as the city’s most elegant retreat. The Georgian Revival structure welcomed a who’s who of the entertainment world to British Columbia, including Elvis Presley, Nat “King” Cole, Katharine Hepburn and British royalty. The legendary boutique hotel, unveiled in July as Rosewood Hotel Georgia, now features 156 guest accommodations, Sense, A Rosewood Spa® and signature fine dining restaurant by renowned Chef David Hawksworth. Recipient of 2011 AAA Four-Diamond Award

And on top  of it all, you get a tasting menu for two at the hotel’s signature restaurant, Hawksworth Restaurant.

Hawksworth Restaurant has been lauded as one of Canada’s best restaurants by many major Canadian publications. The restaurant was just given the high honour of # 2 Restaurant on En Route’s 10 Best New Restaurants List in Canada.  You can take a look at the variety of menus that they offer. All I’m saying is that if I was getting a proposal in Vancouver, I’d want it to be here. It’s absolutely gorgeous and the menu looks like perfection.

The signature Hotel Georgia cocktail: plymouth gin, orgeat, lemon, orange blossom, and egg white

I personally haven’t had a meal at the restaurant but I was at their bar (do you expect anything less of me?) and I was treated like a star. Bar Manager Brad Stanton is the vice-president of the Canadian Professional Bartenders Association (CPBA) so this is a top-notch place to grab a drink. The bar staff took such good care of me and they let me look at their cocktail bible, The Savoy.

Sitting at the Hawksworth Lounge and Bar with the handcrafted Journalist and cocktail Bible, the Savoy. The Hawksworth is a MUST if you are in Vancouver.

The tasting menu you will get is based on season. Here’s a sample of the tasting menu for Fall 2011:

chef’s amuse bouche

yellowfin tuna tartar tempura quail egg, kaffir lime, spiced cucumber

seared squid guanciale, jalapeño, salsa verde

pickled beet root lamb tongue, horseradish, dill

slow cooked veal breast red cabbage, walla walla onion, mustard vinaigrette

chocolate fondant orange, hazelnut

Value: 78 / 126 with wine flight

You’ll also be winning some travel reading material from some fantastic sponsors.

National Geographic Traveler Magazine is my favourite travel magazine and is your one stop shop for up to date information on smart travel, sustainable travel and in depth stories on what it’s like to be in a destination. Storytelling is prevalent in National Geographic and I’m giving away a one year subscription as well as their book, National Geographic Guide to  National Parks of Canada (which you’ll probably be able to use on this trip!).

Luxe City Guide Box

Of course if you’re still dreaming of far flung destinations to inspire your wanderlust, the wonderful snazzy folks at Luxe City Guides have offered up FIVE of their destination guides. If you wanted to know where to grab that last meal on earth, do some advanced shopping and travel like you’ve lived in a city for over 20 years, Luxe is your guide. Plus, they’re web savvy and are always updating their city. Easily one of my favourite guides. I was lucky to win their guides to New York and Paris and they know what they’re talking about. You’ll be getting:

London 
Paris 
Barcelona
New York 
Chicago 

The above titles are a few of my favourite cities. I may have to take some notes before I send them off!  Here’s a wee letter I wrote them when I was trying to win a guide.

Vancouver at dusk on a sunset cruise

A word on Vancouver: 

I went to Vancouver for the first time this year and I was absolutely amazed. The nature; the active residents; the easy going west coast lifestyle. Vancouver is a special place and after going, it really made me proud to be a Canadian. I crafted a four day city guide of where I went and what I ate while I was there as well as concocted a list of my favourite eats when I explored the city for 5 days.  Hopefully, this will inspire you to get to Vancouver. Good luck! 

Passports with Purpose site: passportswithpurpose.com  Twitter: @passportswithpurpose Hashtag: #PWP

Near Afar on Twitter: @nearafar  Facebook Page is here.

One Response to “CONTEST # TWO! My “AFAR” Prize with Passports With Purpose”

  1. Marilyn Terrell December 3, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    Thanks Natalie for putting together this tempting package!

Leave a Reply

