AFAR: Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales

14 Dec

Grace Bay Beach in Provo (as the locals call it) in the Turks and Caicos has to be one of the most stunning beaches I have ever been on. The cliches are true: soft white sand and gorgeous turquoise waters. It’s “paradise.”

And though I love a good beach vacation, I realized something: I can’t sit still.

The first day we get to go on the beach, I walked it. I didn't sit on it. Just outside the Club Med Resorts.

Especially if I’m on assignment covering a story, I want to see as much of a place as I can. It’s like ” you have seven days–in this case—four days to live” syndrome.  I don’t know when I’ll be  back so I have to zip around like it’s my last time on earth. Dramatic yes, but maybe  I feel like I have to squeeze as much out of life as I can.  Even with the gorgeous water and lovely beach, my mind was racing.

I think the only time I relaxed when I was on a boat and couldn’t go anywhere else (even then, I was taking photographs. But I enjoy that so that is relaxation time for me).

An attempt of me sitting on the beach (whilst taking photos of my feet). 🙂

So in between excursions, I was able to soak up the sun and sit. on. the. beach.

Still.

It was difficult! I’ve been go go go for the past little while that I’ve forgotten what it’s like to sit back and be an observer. No computer. No technology. Just me, a book and the soft sand and water with no horizon.

I’m a lucky gal.

2 Responses to “AFAR: Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales”

  1. Davis December 16, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    The next trip I am planning to write up on my blog is to Nicaragua. I had my first assignment from a magazine and thought this was going to be a fine way to travel and see the world. I got a decent article out of it, but, looking through my journals I realize I was constantly busy collecting facts and looking for people to interview and making telling observations and felt like I was in a bubble as much as any tourist, albeit a more serious and high-purpose bubble.

    Looking at my journals I realize that much as I enjoyed playing foreign correspondent, I was not enjoying being a traveler. After that, I paid my own way and did not travel any more on assignment.

    I am an inefficient traveler and need a lot of time to take things in.

    • Bret @ Green Global Travel December 19, 2011 at 3:58 am #

      We’re full-time freelancers as well, so I totally relate to you on the trying to squeeze it all in thing. I’m somewhat envious of RTW travelers who get to explore destinations at their own pace, but after over 10 years of doing press trips, I’ve come to adore the adrenaline rush of the see-it-all-NOW pace. Still, it’s nice to find those quiet moments to soak it all in.

Leave a Reply

