#FriFotos: Old and New

30 Dec

I really had to think of the pictures I wanted to post for this particular theme this week. I honestly didn’t know what to post. So I thought I’d combine some old pictures from my travels with some more recent ones and talk about hopes for the future.

This particular photo was shot on the grounds of St. Peter’s Basilica.  In a serendipitous moment, I found my birth date incarcerated in the grounds of the basilica. It was a special moment that I got down on the ground and posed with it.

Finding my birthdate at St. Pete's Basilica = my old pic

Rome was amazing. I was surrounded by antiquity and history but it was all new to me. Now I crave for that feeling I had while my footsteps unevenly trodded the cobblestones of Rome. I want to be somewhere new. Somewhere exotic. Perhaps somewhere ancient.

My goal is to go to a new continent. I have my sights set on Argentina. (Thailand and Bolivia are also on the list). I want to do it my way. To explore. To be lost. To be in an unknown land.

The Food court at Santa Monica. Very retro chic! Me likey. But still...this is a FOOD COURT?

As for new, this pic is from my recent travels to Santa Monica. This is the food court. This is the most modern food court I’ve seen. It sprawls out to a patio and there are LOUNGE CHAIRS. Who has LOUNGE CHAIRS at the food court? Love it. When you see people tapping away at their lap top at the food court, you know you’re living in a futuristic world.  There’s also a great view of the street below.

The old me was go go go. I understood the importance of taking in the moment. But I never really listened. In my travels now, I try to take moments. To sit. Still. Or stay in one place. And I’ve also realized it’s not always about me in terms of what I saw or did or what I checked off. It’s about soaking up as much of the culture as I can. And that’s what happens when you freeze frame.

I’m looking forward to the New Year. I don’t know where exactly I’ll be going (other than my main plan to attend Book Passage outside of San Francisco) but I hope I can have a mix of old and new.

To participate in Fri Fotos all you have to do is follow the twitter hashtag,#FriFotos. Each theme is announced every Tuesday after noon. For full rules, click here.  P.S. Feel free to add me on Facebook for more chatter and photos. 

Leave a Reply

