NEAR: Cold Tea Toronto

26 Jan

The kick ass collage by Mango Peeler at Cold Tea Toronto

I feel like the cat’s out of the bag already on this secret. I did an extensive Yelp review on it. (Note: the bar, naturally, does not have any website or phone number).  I think I may use that review as I don’t want to repeat myself. The great allure of this place is that you have to find it. I kind of let the cat out of the bag on that secret by showing a detailed photo essay on how to get to the joint. I know that New Yorkers are already finding this place and half the fun really is trying to find it. BUT if you don’t have time, the photo essay was to assist you because it was difficult to find even as a local. And local it is!  **Please don’t hate me owners of Cold Tea.  (But really the intention is to tell people how cool you are and as a result, you’re getting some biz-ness! And nope, not paid at all for this post. I just genuinely love this bar).

Dim Sum. At a Bar! SMART. But caution: I ended up spending $29 on dim sum, a cocktail and a beer. Fun for the first time! At Cold Tea Toronto.

The lovely lady serving dim sum will greet you as you will probably walk in a bit confused expecting a bar but instead being introduced by a hallway with a dim sum cart. She is really cool but I had a bit of a miscommunication issue with her on my dim sum order. Note: It’s 3 dim sum of the same flavour for $5 (you can’t get one of each flavour for $5; that will be $9). I love her little outfit! Oh, and get the pork buns. DAMN.

Cold Tea has a dim sum lady and she wears a snazzy tuxedo.

When you walk into the bar you will see the above picture. You will also see this tres cool mural on the wall stating its moniker. It’s just kind of this shangri-la of a bar because you still have to get to the bar when you walk in. There is another entrance through the back way but it’s for VIPPERS.

Cold Tea Toronto's hip banquettes and beautiful turquoise wall. My new favourite bar in TO

Cold Tea's blank artist wall is marked TBA. Apologies for the crap quality photos here -- my camera isn't that great in the dark.

A few images of the bar. I was lucky to have been the only one in the bar on a Sunday night (smart idea to go to a cool bar when a big TV event is happening like The Golden Globes. Maybe I should come here when the Oscars are on). I personally like sitting at the bar and was able to have a very solid conversation with the lovely co-owner Oliver. What a gem!

Cold Tea Toronto's cool bathroom with elementary-school esque sink.

Cold Tea Toronto awesome bathroom. I'm in love with the tiles.

I love every design detail of this bar including these fantastic tiles in their bathroom. Inspiration really can come from anywhere.

Cold Tea Toronto's back patio which is going to be WICKED in the summer.

And yes, kids Cold Tea has one of the best hidden back patios in the city! Expect this to be in the next Grid or Now Toronto best patios in the city guide when it comes out in the summer.

Love finding random quotes. Can't wait to use this as part of a photo series. At Cold Tea Toronto.

A little mural/graffiti inspiration for you. Okay, so it’s not exactly Keats but hey… Enjoy it! It’s one of my new favourite bars in the city and as I said in the Yelp Review, about time something like this popped up in Toronto that wasn’t as –hate to say it– pretentious as Goodnight.

5 Responses to “NEAR: Cold Tea Toronto”

  1. Andi of My Beautiful Adventures January 30, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    What an interesting looking place!

    • nearafar January 30, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

      Thanks. It’s very cool. When you come to TO, I’ll take you there! 🙂

    • nearafar February 2, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

      It is! If you’re ever in Toronto, I will take you there!

  2. Jeff @ Toronto Custom T-Shirt February 14, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    Looks like an interesting place. I will definitely have to check it out. Thanks!

  3. nearafar February 20, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

    Cool. It’s a fun spot!

Leave a Reply

