AFAR: McDonald’s in Europe

1 Feb

McDonald's in Rimini. And yes, that is the BACI MCFLURRY!

I was intrigued by Ayngelina of Bacon is Magic when she wrote about her dirty food secret: McDonald’s in Italy.

It resonated me with me because McDonald’s was a go-to when I was traveling in Europe. For me McDonald’s isn’t a dirty food secret. It was a reminder of home. I like looking at something that is familiar in foreign places.

McSki --yes-- in Sweden via http://theessentialorange.blogspot.com

And by the blog posts I’ve found from 40 menu items from around the world to Esquire’s post –apparently, Sweden has a McSki concept — ski-through windows on the slopes –I’m not the only one.

McDonald's in Rimini: it was near the beach!

I also like to try new things, so it’s cool to get something at a chain known all over the world when you can’t get it at home. Plus, hello! Free wi-fi. And that’s why McD’s is a mainstay during my travels. And I’m not ashamed to admit it.

McDonald's in Greece: Mmm. Greeck Mac. Greek man not included with your happy meal.

Though Eric Schlosser might not be impressed.

4 Responses to “AFAR: McDonald’s in Europe”

  1. britni danielle February 6, 2012 at 1:20 am #

    When I was in London I planned on NOT going to McDonalds or any other American chain, but I was on a budget…and determined to go out like every nice. So many times the only thing open super late at night was unfortunately MickyDs. I took heart at a few things: 1) the fries tastest better. maybe it was all in my head, but they ever never soggy and always TASTY, and 2) the portion sizes were smaller so i didn’t feel so guilty.

    • nearafar March 15, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

      ha! Smaller portions are always good. 🙂

  2. Nomadic Samuel February 10, 2012 at 1:37 am #

    I find it quite fascinating how fast food chains with a global presence find a way to incorporate local flavors. When I was in Korea they had Kimchi burgers 🙂

Leave a Reply

