Monthly Update: New Year’s Resolutions 2012

2 Feb

I will get to Buenos Aires this year. Photo: robandlauren.ca

What’s the point of a goal if you’re not tracking it? That’s the hardest part. Here  is a month in review from the resolutions I made to myself for 2012. Let’s make some dreams come true!

1. Debt Repayment

Solution: I started tracking my expenses. And the majority, not surprisingly, is going to towards eating out. Half of the restaurant resolutions 2012 were done this month so I’m hoping to cut down on that. But I was surprised on how much I was spending on lunch. In 14 days, I managed to whittle away $187  on lunch. I’m spending $75 on croissants, coke, vitamin water and coffee/tea.  I’m disappointed in myself. I feel like I could be spending my money on my dreams so I’m hoping to cut this down in HALF by next month and allocate this money to debt and savings and towards my dreams. That is realistic.

This also means saying NO. No to spontaneous outings; no to fancy restaurant reservations; no to meeting up with the people that don’t matter as much to me. No to cravings at lunch. Not as many croissants (or buying them in bulk at the grocery store instead).  NO to frivolity means YES towards something meaningful like the trip of a lifetime.

2. Attend Book Passage. On hold right now for obvious reasons. Focusing on Number 5 first. Amount saved: $0.

Dear Holy Chuck: I love you but I can't afford you on a regular basis. Friends with Benefits?

3. Mini 30 Day Challenge Yoga. This didn’t go well at ALL. I got sick over Christmas with impending bronchitis. Needless to say with stress and deadlines and lack of sleep I needed to catch up on it all. I think I’ll revisit it another month. I still want to try to work out two to three times a week.

Solution: trying something else. As related to #1, I think I’m going to challenge myself to not eat lunch during the work week for the next month. It still gives me room to go out for dinner but the lunch spending needs to go down and tracking it really  helped.

I still have to figure out the fitness. I want to try something other than yoga but incorporate yoga in my routine (just not daily right now!).

4. Get the blog in order.

Solution: I had a friend who was supposed to help me out. He’s been lacksidasial in responding to me so how do I know if he’s going to be reliable? B. Don’t work with a close friend. I found someone else who’s local who’s not super close but I have a nice enough rapoire with who will help me.  Start allocating $50 to $100 a month for his services. Start doing searching my favourite sites and what I like/don’t like about them.

Update: started doing the research

First mini goal: Save up to $300 for a deposit.

Deadline: March 15, 2012

5. Go somewhere exotic.

Solution: I recently got an interesting opportunity that would cover my accommodation anywhere in the world. The disgust I felt with my finances as per #1 and this opportunity are really motivating me to allocate the funds towards this goal. So Destination Number One is BUENOS AIRES. It would also be my 20th country.  I can make this happen. I’m GOING to make this happen! I need to get somewhere exotic even if it’s for a week. This excites me. I have to think about how I will feel if I complete the task of putting my money in savings for this trip. And it makes me feel uber excited and happy to think that I could afford to go somewhere I’ve really wanted to go for myself. YAY.  I just need to pay for the flight. So that’s T Minus $1300 towards a flight. Sigh. It may also mean not going back to New York in March, like I wanted to. Sigh. Should I sacrifice New York and making contacts as per goal #7?Hmmm Amount saved: $0

Handwritten notes. CHECK!

6. Write more handwritten notes. Success! 30 were sent out before the New Year and about 15 more were sent to those who assisted me with Passports with Purpose. This feels good. And I got a few notes saying how thoughtful it was to do this. Plus, it’s nice to put pen to paper once in a while. Yay!

7.  Get published with a travel related piece. 

If I go to New York as per Number 5, I may have the chance to make some contacts (I have to continue that process). This would be perfect as the New York Times Travel show is coming up in March. I would have to pay for the flight, one night accommodation and for food. I need to map it out but a lot of the restaurants I want to go to are fast food/casual so hoping it won’t cost too much as we all know New York restaurants can be pricey. I have to think about it to be honest but I think it would be a good opportunity for me. And why can’t I do both especially if I can get some of it comped by work? I still have to work on that.

Writing this post and my progress made me feel better. I’m realizing if I see my goals in a visual sense and break down everything it will be easier for me to achieve them. Phew!

7 Responses to “Monthly Update: New Year’s Resolutions 2012”

  1. Michael February 2, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    Great work! With this kind of authenticity your dreams are just around the corner.

    • nearafar February 2, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

      Thanks Michael! It’s been way too long. Writing out the list and tracking everything (especially the finances) has really helped. It’s taken a while but I feel like I’m finally on track and on top of it, got an interesting potential offer to go somewhere exotic!

  2. Sameer Vasta February 2, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    I’m very glad to have been able to help with some of your excellent achievements. 🙂

    Good luck on the next few resolutions!

    • nearafar February 2, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

      Thank you! Having a good set of friends really really helps. And you have been one!

  3. Emily in Chile February 2, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

    Love that you’re being accountable with your resolutions – I’m trying to do the same with my goals for the year and not let them stay on the back burner indefinitely. I hope you make it to Buenos Aires, it’s such a great city!

    • nearafar February 2, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

      Thank you so much Emily! I think it’s having the passion to actually achieve your goals instead of just dreaming about them. For years, I was just dreaming. So now I’m doing. I actually found a flight that will get me to Santiago so I would LOVE to meet you if you are there! How exciting. I would love to get to my third continent!

  4. My love, a fare February 3, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    Your goals are all coming together. I know that brain, you’ve just now been lining up the opportunities to share it.

Leave a Reply

