#FriFotos: Local

24 Feb

Toronto has a soccer team called the Toronto Football Club. In all our glory on Canada Day.

Today’s theme is “Local.” Now, that’s a theme I can get behind! ๐Ÿ™‚ Here’s the photo essay…

Let's take a peek into my city, shall we? At Ikea. That's local right?

If any of you read this blog, you'll know that Kensington Market is my FAVOURITE neighbourhood in the city. I mean Mona Lisa is on a mural. Come on!

More Kensington Market. This graffiti was featured in the Bedouin Soundclash video "When The Night Feels My Song."

But there are other nabes that even locals don't see. Like the St. Clair area. Home to Wychwood Barns.

More Wychwood Barns. I'm a huge market girl. I love the hustle and bustle of markets and finding local produce. A must on a Saturday!

There's other neighbourhoods too. Like the land in between the Beach. TTC streetcar yard at Coxwell and Queen.

In the summer, you'll find many strolling along the Harbourfront. Toronto is not igloos! It's hard to leave here from June to September.

On the other side of town are the rocks at Ashbridge's Bay. A great spot to contemplate and reflect.

Back to Kensington Market. Here we are getting the local lemonade AND a portrait drawn. #GoodDeal

It wouldn't be local without an obligatory food shot. This one, from one of my favourite restaurants, The Black Hoof.

My local, La Merceria. They have lovely hot chocolate and I can write here for hours.

You can't be in Toronto without the CN Tower shot. Here's one view.

Here's another view. At night.

And here we are back in Kensington Market. I told you it was my favourite neighbourhood!

Hope you enjoyed the tour!

4 Responses to “#FriFotos: Local”

  1. Ayngelina February 26, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    All my favourite parts of Toronto – well except the CN Tower and Harbourfront ๐Ÿ™‚

    • nearafar February 26, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

      Ha! The Harbourfront is really nice in the summertime. Check the Yo Yo Ma Music Garden and I think you’ll be surprised! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sheryll Donerson March 5, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

    I have really got to get myself to Toronto soon. I keep hearing so many awesome things about the city! Maybe on my way back from Korea….lol!

    • nearafar March 6, 2012 at 1:36 am #

      You know where I am currently. And you definitely have a tour guide. Plus, I know where all of the tacos are! Nudge, wink.

Leave a Reply

