20 Tastiest Things I’ve Eaten in Toronto in 2012. Quarterly Review

7 Mar

Truffled Mac N Cheese at Moroco Chocolat

As you may have noticed (and in my resolutions both restaurant and non-restaurant), I eat out a lot. A LOT.

As is with a metropolis like Toronto, new places are opening all of the time. I’ve also been able to try some old stand bys. But I’ve had some pretty memorable eats.

This will be a quarterly review.There’s too many to name in one year. I’ve linked to my Yelp reviews that explain my meals in more detail. I also have a number of lists on the site that are helpful to anyone coming to do a tasting tour of Toronto. It’s worth it! These are in no particular order. And feel free to add me or follow on Yelp, which is where I post all of my restaurant reviews in detail!

Here’s what I can’t stop thinking about:

1.  Holy Chuck signature burger at Holy Chuck. The service at Holy Chuck trumps that of The Burger’s Priest. And hello? Salted Caramel and Nutella MILKSHAKES. Need I say more? Yes, it’s a heart attack on a plate but the taste does not get any better…

2. Duck at Yours Truly. The most tender, moist duck I’ve had and the accompanying sauce is perfection.

3. Baja Fish Tacos at Grand Electric. The BEST baja fish taco I’ve had in the city. Hands down. A regular craving.

4. Key Lime Vassos at Grand Electric. Light, refreshing, and served in a mason jar. Great textures with the crumbs on the bottom. I am now salivating just writing about it!

5. Rabbit Pappardelle, Suckling pig and Creme Caramel at Nota Bene. My very detailed posts and pics on that are here. One of my Toronto stand outs. Yum!  Really everything here is good. Big nods to the crispy duck salad and the lobster salad as well (if you’re lunching).

Wild boar fettuccine at Maialino

6.  Fettucine Cinggiale, with wild boar ragu at Maialino Enoteca. Perfectly executed pasta with a dash of truffle. One of my other favourite things on the planet.

7. Ragu Gnocchi at Local Wine Bar. I can’t even talk about this, it’s so good.

8. $5 Personal Pan Pepperoni pizza at Panago. It’s cheap, you know what you’re getting and it’s greasy on top and snappy and crispy on the bottom.

9. Los Angeles grilled cheese sandwich with tangerine pineapple soda at Cheesewerks. Great flavours all mixed together. The owners here are super super nice as well.

10. Glory Hole doughnuts at Thor Espresso Bar. I need to try the dulce de leche one. Then I will be complete.

11. Khao Soi at Khao San Road. The perfect rainy day thai comfort food. Wow. I don’t think anyone can replicate this at the moment.

12. Sipping Chocolate at Moroco Chocolat. Basically hot chocolate on crack.

13. Truffled Mac N Cheese at Moroco Chocolat. Basically mac n cheese on crack. I didn’t know Moroco does brunch or food (as opposed to macarons and desserts) but they do and it’s DELISH!

Asteria Souvlaki on the Danforth. Mmmm.

14. Chicken Souvlaki at Asteria. The freshest I’ve had on the Danforth.

15. Salt Cod at Yours Truly. Gat damn. Wow. It’s like Japanese food on electric shock. Delish. And the chefs bring you your food. Please.

16. Crab dip and lamb tartare at Hopgood’s Foodliner. I’m not a fan of tartare but wow…this is quickly making me a convert. The crab dip is served with warm triscuits. I could easily eat a tub of that stuff. Wow.

17. Pork Buns and Sake To Me cocktail at Cold Tea  Cocktail is: Ginger, Beer, Sake and Blood Orange. Great cool bar that was much needed in Toronto. No other bar does the pork bun/dim sum combo. What a great idea. Sometimes, they do oysters as well. Super smart to change it up.

18. Coconut Cream Pie at Scaramouche. This dessert is an icon. There is a reason why. It is a dessert where you do not speak while eating it. You just come and savour it for every, single, delicious, creamy bite that it is. Plus, views to match!

19. Meatball appetizer at Pizzeria Libretto. Big, fat meatballs like your nonna makes for under $10. Yum!

20. Nutella Scones and berry smoothies at School. Need I say more?!

9 Responses to “20 Tastiest Things I’ve Eaten in Toronto in 2012. Quarterly Review”

  1. Sheryll Donerson March 7, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    Oh my god I am STARVING. I need to make a trip to TO and have a foodie tour with you. The wild boar fettucine looks out of freaking control!

    • nearafar March 8, 2012 at 7:50 am #

      Thank you! Yes, I will be your personal foodie tour guide when you come see me. There’s even a Little Korea here. 🙂

  2. My love a fare March 8, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    Yummy. I need chocolate on crack right now.

  3. Corbin Fraser (@ibackpackcanada) March 21, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    And now I’m hungry. lol. Awesome post natalie! What was that awesome joint you showed me…I could never pronounce it right or spell it. Proshuto?

  4. Ayngelina (@Ayngelina) March 22, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    Isn’t it crazy that I still haven’t eaten Khao Soi at Khao San Road. We need to make a date before I go to Maui!

    • nearafar March 23, 2012 at 8:03 am #

      Yes we do! They’re celebrating Songkran as well on April 12. Too bad you won’t be here for it! I always go for my usual Sam Roas Pad Thai but I finally tried the Khao Soi and it was SUCH a treat.

      • Tammy March 25, 2012 at 11:39 am #

        Khao San Road has been on my “to-try” list forever, but I still haven’t been! Boo. Need to go. Soon. Like, now.

Leave a Reply

