The Best View of the CN Tower: The Thompson Hotel

26 Mar

The classic CN Tower shot. And The Thompson is practically the only place you can comfortably get the shot without any other buildings blocking the way.

The CN Tower is Toronto’s icon and landmark. And everyone has their spot for the best view. There are a few that I’ve mentioned in the  I Heart My City series on National Geographic Traveler’s website.  But now that a condo has been erected around every inch of downtown and the waterfront, the view is blocked. Until The Thompson Hotel took real estate.

I had the golden opportunity on a sunny day to explore the Thompson Rooftop which is infamous for its view. It’s true. I could stay up there for HOURS. I’m kind of jealous of the bartenders that get to work there. Seriously, what a VIEW. They have a Sundown Sunday to hang out on the roof but it’s for hotel guests and residents.  Thanks again to the Thompson for a very fun time!

This was also an opportunity to use my new Olympus E-PL3. It’s a great little camera to travel around with and I was able to get these shots using it.

Olympus E-P3 pinhole view.

Olympus E-P3 Dramatic art view. This one is my favourite function!

Art Function Grainy on the E-P3

Olympus E-P3 pinhole view.

Olympus E-P3 diorama view.

Classic View

Vintage views with the White Balance filter.

This was a fun view. The stark view. The sky was great at this time.

2 Responses to “The Best View of the CN Tower: The Thompson Hotel”

  1. Ayngelina March 30, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    You finally made it up there, very nice!

    • nearafar March 30, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

      I did. I used my charm. (NOT.) But it was on my Toronto bucket list!

Leave a Reply

